Mailbox Management

This page provides instructions on how to configure your email client to remove messages from the server.  These steps should be followed when setting up your email client on your computer or if you are experiencing issues with your mailbox quota being exceed. Follow the steps outlined below by selecting the link for the email client you are using.
*Please Note
If you are using a multiple devices to read your mail, the best practice is to configure 1 device only to manage the removal of messages from the server.   Another important factor to consider is mail that has been downloaded to one device will not appear on another device if it has already been removed from the server.  For example if you configure a PC to remove messages from the server after 14 days, and on a second device you haven’t accessed your Mail for more than 14 days then mail won’t be on that device.

Mail is removed from the server only, mail will remain in the inbox of your mail client until you delete it.

Windows Live Mail
Outlook Express, Outlook 98/2000, or Windows Mail
Outlook 2002/2003
Outlook 2007
Thunderbird
Mac Mail
Entourage (Mac)
iOS Mail (iPhone/iPad/iPod)
Android Mail

 

Windows Live Mail

Open Windows Live Mail
From the Menu Select Accounts. Select Properties. A new window will open. Select the Advanced tab and under the delivery section:

Option 1. Clear the check box Leave a copy of messages on the server if you do not need to save mail on the server.
Option 2. If you would like to leave messages on the server, please check the box Remove from server after, and click the arrows to specify the number of days or weeks emails should be saved. We recommend 7- 14 days. You should never leave a copy of email on the server for more than 30 days.
Click Apply and then click OK to return to the email program.

Outlook Express, Outlook 98/2000, Windows Mail.

Open Outlook Express , Outlook 98/2000, or Windows Mail.
From the Tools menu select Accounts. The Internet Accounts box appears.
Select the Mail tab. (Note: Windows Mail does not have the Mail tab, but shows the account in the Internet Accounts window).
Click on your account, then click the Properties button on the right. The email account properties appear.
Select the Advanced tab.
Under the Delivery section:
Option 1: Clear the check box Leave a copy of messages on the server if you do not need to save mail on the server.
Option 2: If you would like to leave messages on the server, please check the box Remove from server after, and click the arrows to specify the number of days or weeks emails should be saved. We recommend 7-14 days. You should never leave a copy of email on the server for more than 30 days.
Click OK and then click Close to return to the email program.

Outlook 2002/2003

Open Outlook.
From the Tools menu, select Email Accounts or Account Setting for Outlook 2007. The Accounts box appears.
Verify that the circle-box View or change existing email accounts is selected and click Next.
Your email account appears, Click on your email account to highlight it, then click the Change button on the right. The Internet Email Settings appear.
Click the button More Settings… in the lower right-hand corner. The Internet Email Settings box appears.
Click the Advanced tab. Under the Delivery section:

Option 1: Clear the check box Leave a copy of messages on the server if you do not need to save mail on the server.
Option 2: If you would like to leave messages on the server, please check the box “Remove from server after,” and click the arrows to specify the number of days or weeks emails should be saved. We recommend 7-14 days. You should never leave a copy of email on the server for more than 30 days.
Click OK, then click Next, and then click Finish to return to the email program.

Outlook 2007

Open Outlook.
From the Tools menu, select Account Settings. The Account Settings box appears.
Your email account appears, click on your email account to highlight it, then click the Change button. The Internet Email Settings appear.
Click the button More Settings… in the lower right-hand corner. The Internet Email Settings box appears.
Click the Advanced tab. Under the Delivery section:

Option 1. Clear the check box Leave a copy of messages on the server if you do not need to save mail on the server
Option 2. If you would like to leave messages on the server, please check the box “Remove from server after”, and click the arrows to specify the number of days or weeks emails should be saved. We recommend 7-14 days. You should never leave a copy of email on the server for more than 30 days.
Click OK, then click Next, and then click Finish. Click Close to return to the email program.

Thunderbird (Mac and Windows)

Open Thunderbird. From the Tools menu select Account Settings. The Account Settings box appears.
In the white area on the left, select the entry Server Settings. Under the Server Settings section:

Option 1. Clear the check box Leave messages on the server if you do not need to save email on the server.
Option 2. If you would like to leave messages on the server check the box For at most, and specify the number of days. We recommend 7-14 days. You should never leave a copy of email on the server for more than 30 days.
Click OK to return to the email program.

Macintosh OS X Mail

Open Mail.  From the Mail menu, select Preferences. Select the Accounts icon and click on your email account under the Description heading. The Account Information appears.
Click on the Advanced tab.
Make sure that Remove copy from server after retrieving a message: is checked. If you would like to leave messages on the server, click on the field below and select after one day, or after one week, etc. We recommend 14 days max, but you should never leave a copy of email on the server for more than 30 days. Note: You can remove the email from the server immediately by clicking the Remove Now button.
Close the Accounts box to return to the email program.

Entourage (Mac)

Open Entourage.
From the Tools menu, select Accounts.
Click once on the name of the account you wish to edit. This will highlight the account.
Click on the Edit button at the top of the Accounts window. DO NOT click on the edit menu at the very top of the screen.
In the Edit Account box click on the Options tab.
Under Server options section: Clear the check box Leave a copy of each message on the server. If you would like to leave messages on the server, check the box Delete messages from the server after and specify the number of days. We recommend 14 days max, but you should never leave a copy of email on the server for more than 30 days. Note: You can remove the email from the server immediately by clicking Get all messages left on server.
Click OK to close the Edit Account box and close the Accounts box to return to the email program.

 

iOS Mail (iPhone/iPad/iPod)

Go to Settings
Select Mail, Contacts, Calendars.
Select the email account you want to change.
Select Advanced.
Select Remove.
Select a time frame.
Never: The email message will remain in place on all of your devices and email clients.
After one day: One day after Mail reads the email message, Mail will remove the message from the server. The message will exist only in Mail, not on any other clients.
After one week: This setting works the same as “After one day”, except that Mail waits one week.
After one month: This setting works the same as “After one day”, except that Mail waits one month.
To exit and Save your setting select Advanced, Back and then Done.

Android

Due to the different versions of Android and the many mail clients that can be used on those devices; this is an example of just one of those clients. Please contact your provider if you need assistance in finding the location of this advanced setting

  • Access your mail application and choose the option (typically a Menu button) where you will be able to see more settings.
  • From the settings screen you will want to choose Account settings.
  • From the account settings screen, you will select Incoming Settings
  • From there you will find the settings to “Delete Email from Server”